« Back to Glossary Index

1)  The first full form of SSC is ‘Staff Selection Commission’.

Staff Selection Commission is an organization that runs under the Government of India. This organization recruits many employees for different positions across different ministries of the Government of India.  The commission has headquarters in New Delhi, India. It is lead by a chairman and consists of 2 members and a secretary controller.

Some facts about SSC.

  • Initially, its name was Subordinate Services Commission which was changed in 1977 to Staff Selection Commission.
  • SSC was constituted on 4th November,1975 and came into effect on 26th September,1977.
  • A chairman heads the commission. Furthermore, two members and a controller of examinations assists the chairman. 
  • The headquarters of the Staff Selection Commission is in New Delhi.
  • The commission has its regional offices too. 
  • Currently, there are seven regional Offices in India at Guwahati, Kolkata, Mumbai, Chennai, Delhi, Bangalore and Allahabad. It has two sub regional offices also and are located in Chandigarh and Raipur.
  • Functions of SSC include: conducting examinations for various government posts, recruitment in different ministries/departments, to hold competitive exams in various departments of government varying from clerks, assistants, railways and all other grades of services.
  • The commission also performs certain functions given by the central government of India.

2) The second full form of SSC is Secondary School Certificate.

Secondary school certificate examination conducted by CBSE and some other state boards in India is also known as SSC.

« Back to Glossary Index